song cycle: You were not there for the beginning. You will not be there for the end.

This song cycle comprises five pieces with different nontraditional approaches to the song form. It explores ideas of our origins and what it means to be human, as presented in mythology and literature. Each song is based on an individual text including the Yekuana (native Venezuelan) creation story, and works by Jorge Luis Borges, William S. Burroughs, and Knut Hamsun.

Each piece is a different strategy to guide improvisation with a text-based or graphic score, and they all incorporate lyrics in their own way. Both of these elements rely heavily on their corresponding literary inspiration for their form. The music ranges from sound-based extended techniques to traditional singing, and includes the full spectrum in between.

Jacob Felix Heule: percussion + electronics
Danishta Rivero: voice + Hydrophonium

performance history: