september 2013 tour:
9: Firenze @ A.S. Aurora
11: Faenza @ Clandestino
12: Genova @ SpazioTarga
13: Torino @ Velvet Club
15: Rovereto @ TBA
16: Venezia @ Punto Croce
18: Novi Sad, Serbia @ Materra
19: Subotica, Serbia @ Studio 11
20: Temerin, Serbia @ Flying Dutchman
21: Belgrade, Serbia @ Inex Film
22: Zabok, Croatia @ Zelena dvorana / Green Room
23: Maribor, Slovenia @ Gustaf Pekarna
25: Jesi @ TNT
26: Napoli @ 76A

Voicehandler, the duo of Jacob Felix Heule and Danishta Rivero, is an electroacoustic ensemble combining improvisation with original compositions. They perform with voice, percussion, electronics, and the Hydrophonium (an electroacoustic percussion instrument created by Rivero).

Their most recent work, song cycle, was written with the support of an Individual Artists Commission from the San Francisco Arts Commission, and comprises different nontraditional approaches to the song form. It explores ideas of our origins and what it means to be human, as presented in mythology and literature. Each song is based on an individual text including the Yekuana creation story, and works by Borges, Burroughs, and Hamsun. The music is written as open scores, leaving much room for Heule and Rivero to draw on their extensive experience as improvisers.

Voicehandler has performed at Soundwave (5) Humanities, and the 16th Annual Music for People and Thingamajigs Festival in San Francisco, and the Roost Creative Soundscape Festival in Albuquerque, in addition to other concerts in the US and Europe.


jacob felix heule: percussion, electronics
danishta rivero: voice, hydrophonium

Jacob Felix Heule is a percussionist and electronic musician focused on sound-oriented improvisation following the traditions of electro-acoustic improv, noise, and 20th-century composition. His playing embraces both rough-edged intensity and disciplined instrumental technique. In 2004 Heule founded the acoustic grind duo Ettrick with Jay Korber. Heule has worked extensively with double bassist Tony Dryer since 2006, in a variety of groups such as Basshaters and Addleds (with Kyle Bruckmann and Kanoko Nishi). He has recently been highly active touring and recording with Sult, his Norwegian/American acoustic noise quartet with Dryer, Håvard Skaset, and Guro Skumsnes Moe.

Danishta Rivero is a musician and sound artist who resides in San Francisco. She performs solo improvisations on the Hydrophonium, a water-based electro-acoustic percussion instrument, with which she has toured the Pacific Northwest. Danishta also does vocals and digital signal processing in Blood Wedding, a just-intonation noise duo with Chuck Johnson on lap steel guitar and modular synth. She was the lead vocalist of progressive metal band Aghora (1997-2006), and she co-founded Optiphonal Wonder Machine, a multimedia collaboration with Jennifer Rannells.